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Kane	County	Government	Center	

The Kane County Government Center is located on Batavia 
Avenue (Route 31) just south of the Metra staƟon in downtown 
Geneva.   

All offices are open by telephone from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., 
Monday through Friday.  All offices are closed on Saturday, Sun-
day, and County holidays.   

   Assessment Office .................................... Building C, 3rd Floor 
 630-208-3818 

   Clerk/Tax Extension .................................. Building B, 1st Floor 
 630-232-5964 

   Treasurer ................................................. Building A, 2nd Floor 
 630-232-3565 

 
Kane County Holidays in 2025 

   New Year’s Day ........................................................... January 1 
   M.L. King’s Birthday .................................................. January 20 
   Lincoln’s Birthday ................................................... February 12 
   Washington’s Birthday ........................................... February 17 
   Spring Holiday .............................................................. April 18 
   Memorial Day ................................................................ May 26 
   Juneteenth Independence Day ..................................... June 19 
   Independence Day ........................................................... July 4 
   Labor Day .............................................................. September 1 
   Columbus Day .......................................................... October 13 
   Veterans Day ....................................................... November 11 
   Thanksgiving ................................................... November 27-28 
   Christmas ........................................................ December 25-26 
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Government	Center	Campus	Map	
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Under Illinois law, property taxes are the primary means of 
funding local governments.   Property taxes are developed from 
two components:  the taxes levied by each local government tax-
ing district, and the relaƟve value of each taxable parcel in the 
boundaries of each taxing district.    

Simply put, the Illinois property tax system divides up each  
local government taxing district’s property tax levy over all  
                                                                        (conƟnued on next page)

Property	Tax	Overview	
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Homestead	Exemptions	
Homestead ExempƟons reduce the taxable value of a property 

by a specific amount prior to taxes being calculated; the actual 
tax savings depends upon the tax rate for a specific property.  
They are typically available for properƟes that are occupied by 
their owners or persons with legal or equitable interest as of      
January 1 of the taxable year. 

ApplicaƟons for all Homestead ExempƟons are available at  
Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov or by calling (630) 208-3818. 
Available homestead exempƟons include: 

 The General Homestead ExempƟon (up to $8,000) is for 
taxpayers who own and occupy their home as a principal 
dwelling; in most cases, no annual reapplicaƟon is re-
quired aŌer the iniƟal approval.   

 The Senior CiƟzen Homestead ExempƟon (up to $8,000) 
is for taxpayers who are 65 or older by December 31 of 
the tax assessment year; if there are two owners, only one 
needs to be 65.   

 The Homestead Improvement ExempƟon (up to $25,000)  
reduces the taxable value of a new improvement (such as 
a room addiƟon or basement finish) for four years.  Ques-
Ɵons on this exempƟon should be directed to the proper-
ty’s Township Assessor. 

 The Low-Income Senior CiƟzen Assessment Freeze Home-
stead ExempƟon (amount varies) effecƟvely freezes the 

(ConƟnued from prior page)                      
parcels in the district, based on each parcel’s proporƟonate as-
sessed value as a percentage of the aggregate assessed property 
value in the district.   

The Township Assessors and Kane County officials who admin-
ister the property tax code have developed this guide to help 
taxpayers beƩer understand the property tax system. 
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taxable value at a base year (the year prior to the first 
year’s approval). 
 This exempƟon does not freeze a property’s taxes, 

only the taxable valuaƟon of the property.  
 The owner must be 65 or older by December 31 of 

the taxable year, use the property as a principal 
dwelling for the beginning of two consecuƟve years, 
and meet household income requirements.   

 If owned and occupied by a married couple, only one 
of the two owner-occupants must be 65. 

 Annual reapplicaƟon is required to maintain this   
exempƟon; by state law, this must include evidence 
that the household income does not exceed $65,000; 
proof of household income is required. 

 In most cases, if a property value falls below the base 
year, the new lower value will become the new base-
year value. 

 The Returning Veterans’ ExempƟon ($5,000) is for veteran 
homeowners for two years aŌer returning from an armed 
conflict.  

 The Standard ExempƟon for Veterans with DisabiliƟes (up 
to $250,000) is for qualifying homeowners with a service-
connected disability raƟng of at least 30%. 

 The Veterans with DisabiliƟes ExempƟon (up to $100,000)  
is for veteran homeowners with service-connected disabili-
Ɵes who have Specially Adapted Housing. 

 The Persons with DisabiliƟes ExempƟon ($2,000) is for 
homeowners with disabiliƟes that inhibit employability. 

 The Natural Disaster ExempƟon provides relief from in-
creased EAVs due to the reconstrucƟon of a home in certain 
circumstances aŌer a natural  disaster. 

Homestead	Exemptions	
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Homestead	Exemptions	
For assistance with exempƟons, contact the County Assess-

ment Office or any Township Assessor’s Office.  Senior ciƟzens 
may also obtain assistance by calling Senior Services of Aurora at 
(630) 897-4035 or Senior Services of Elgin at (847) 741-0404. 

 
Example of the Impact of ExempƟons 

Each exempƟon reduces the tax burden of a qualifying proper-
ty by reducing its taxable value.  In Kane County, tax rates gener-
ally range from about 6% to 9%, with a median rate of about 
7.5%; they can be higher in special-service areas. 

In the following example, a senior ciƟzen homeowner lives in a 
house with a fair cash value of $325,000; the homeowner is liv-
ing off savings, and has an income that qualifies for the senior 
freeze with a base-year EAV of $77,693.  The benefits of the 
available homestead exempƟons, based on a property tax rate of 
7.5%, are:   

 

 

  
Without 

ExempƟons   With 
ExempƟons 

Property Value $325,000   $325,000 

Level of Assessment 33.33%   33.33% 

Equalized Assessed Value $108,323   $108,323 

ExempƟons       

   General      ($8,000) 

   Senior Ci zen     ($8,000) 

     Senior Freeze ($77,693 base year)     ($30,630) 

Net ValuaƟon $108,323   $61,693 

EsƟmated Tax Rate X  7.5%   X  7.5% 

Tax Dollars Due $8,124   $4,627 
Total Tax Savings from exempƟons:  $3,497 (43%) 
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Frequently	Asked	Questions	
Q: Where does the property tax money come from? 
A: It comes from all types of property, according to its 

proporƟonal value of the total property in the County: 

Q: Why did my tax bill go up?  
A: Your taxes may be higher than they were last year for any or 

all of four general reasons: 
 You may not be receiving all of the homestead 

exempƟons for which your property is eligible. 
 Other properƟes in your area may qualify for one or 

more exempƟons for which you are not eligible. 
 The local governments (such  as  municipaliƟes and 

schools)  in  your  area  may  have approved a higher tax 
levy than last year. 

 Rates of value change vary, even in the same neighbor-
hood.  If your property’s value change was higher than 
the average in your area, your relaƟve tax  burden will be 
greater than it was last year.  If your property’s value 
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Frequently	Asked	Questions	
change was lower than average change in your area  
your relaƟve tax burden will be less than it was last year. 

 
Q: Where does the property tax money go? 
A: The largest porƟon goes to the schools; the remaining 

porƟons go to the other local governments in the County: 

Q: What change did Kane County make to its tax extension this 
year?  

A: In 2023 (payable 2024), the total property taxes extended by 
Kane County was $58,345,127; in 2024 (payable 2025), it was 
$61,071,789, an increase of 4.69%. 

 
Q: Does Kane County decide how much in property tax other 

local governments (such as schools) can levy?  
A: No. Each local government makes this decision 

independently; Kane County has no authority to issue any 
property tax levy but its own.  
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Frequently	Asked	Questions	

Q: What change did my school district make to its tax 
extension this year? 

A: It varies by district; the taxes extended in the 2023 (payable 
2024) and 2024 (payable 2025) years are: 

* Portion of district located outside of Kane County; total levy may be based on estimated equal-
ized assessed values in other counties and subject to revision.  

Q: What change did my municipality make to its tax extension 
this year? 

A: It varies by municipality; the taxes extended in the 2023 
(payable 2024) and 2024 (payable 2025) years are: 

School District 
2023 (pay 2024) 

Taxes Billed 
2024 (pay 2025)

Taxes Billed 
% 

Change 
For More 

Information 

Elgin 46* $366,380,931  $388,203,404  5.96% (847) 888-5000 
Batavia 101 $92,037,060  $90,544,000  -1.62% (630) 406-8257 
Yorkville 115* $79,907,622  $84,529,247  5.78% (630) 553-4382 
West Aurora 129 $111,866,105  $115,551,997  3.29% (630) 844-4400 
East Aurora 131 $43,111,549  $43,895,768  1.82% (630) 299-5550 
Huntley 158* $91,630,708  $95,564,863  4.29% (847) 659-6158 
Barrington 220* $157,903,647  $163,870,277  3.78% (847) 381-6300 
Dundee 300* $251,076,375  $263,037,983  4.76% (847) 551-8300 
Central 301* $64,201,306  $67,762,845  5.55% (847) 464-6005 
Kaneland 302* $69,678,148  $72,784,555  4.46% (630) 365-5100 
Saint Charles 303* $190,156,079  $200,371,002  5.37% (630) 513-3030 
Geneva 304 $101,757,259  $104,909,297  3.10% (630) 463-3000 
Oswego 308* $162,131,863  $170,003,155  4.85% (630) 636-3080 
Sycamore 427* $43,190,157  $45,110,079  4.45% (815) 899-8100 
Hinckley 429* $10,370,750  $10,716,274  3.33% (815) 286-7578 
Elgin College 509* $69,386,000  $72,535,694  4.54% (847) 697-1000 
Harper College 512* $97,521,781  $101,126,095  3.70% (847) 925-6000 
Waubonsee College 516* $58,758,203  $61,256,377  4.25% (630) 466-7900 
Kishwaukee College 523* $18,834,502  $21,026,386  11.64% (815) 825-2086 
McHenry College 528* $28,810,265  $29,776,811  3.35% (815) 455-3700 
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Frequently	Asked	Questions	

* Portion of district located outside of Kane County; total levy may be based on estimated equal-
ized assessed values in other counties and subject to revision.  

Municipality 
2023 (pay 2024) 

Taxes Billed 
2024 (pay 2025) 

Taxes Billed 
% 

Change 
For More 

Information 

Algonquin* $6,429,991 $6,729,983  4.67% (847) 658-2700 
Aurora* $87,410,407 $92,587,156  5.92% (630) 256-4636 
Barrington Hills* $4,796,502 $4,692,002  -2.18% (847) 551-3000 
Bartlett* $12,904,025 $12,899,707  -0.03% (630) 837-0800 
Batavia $9,309,630 $10,810,037  16.12% (630) 454-2000 
Big Rock $0 $0  N/A (630) 556-4365 
Burlington $145,152 $148,780  2.50% (847) 683-2237 
Campton Hills $0 $0  N/A (630) 584-5700 
Carpentersville $13,567,603 $11,564,224  -14.77% (847) 426-3439 
East Dundee* $761,503 $950,200  24.78% (847) 426-2822 
Elburn $1,110,155 $1,203,250  8.39% (630) 365-5060 
Elgin* $56,332,333 $57,968,795  2.91% (847) 931-6100 
Geneva $6,381,775 $6,616,682  3.68% (630) 232-7494 
Gilberts $1,437,347 $1,525,400  6.13% (847) 428-2861 
Hampshire $1,397,571 $1,554,711  11.24% (847) 683-2181 
Huntley* $5,295,423 $5,484,248  3.57% (847) 515-5200 
Kaneville $0 $0  N/A (630) 557-0037 
Lily Lake $0 $0  N/A (630) 365-9677 
Maple Park* $272,330 $286,287  5.12% (815) 827-3309 
Montgomery* $2,497,964 $2,621,758  4.96% (630) 896-8080 
North Aurora $2,814,056 $2,935,165  4.30% (630) 897-8228 
Pingree Grove $727,376 $768,122  5.60% (847) 464-5533 
Sleepy Hollow $925,169 $957,495  3.49% (847) 428-2266 
South Elgin $5,311,326 $5,684,993  7.04% (847) 742-5780 
St Charles* $14,612,811 $14,864,993  1.73% (630) 377-4400 
Sugar Grove $1,977,954 $2,011,123  1.68% (630) 466-4507 
Virgil $31,727 $33,082  4.27% (630) 365-6677 
Wayne* $970,860 $1,022,838  5.35% (630) 584-3090 

West Dundee $6,250,015 $6,900,012  10.40% (847) 551-3800 
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Frequently	Asked	Questions	
Q: Where can I find the figures for all other taxing districts in 

Kane County? 
A: All tax extension reports since 1980 are available at  

Clerk.KaneCountyIL.gov/TaxExtension. 
 
Q: How can I see how much tax I pay to each district for just my 

property? 
A: Visit KaneIL.DevnetWedge.com.  You can search for your 

property by tax parcel number, address, or owner name.  
Once you are at your record, you can see how much property 
tax you pay to each taxing body  that levies against your 
property.  By changing the year, you can see this data all the 
way back to 2004. 

 
Q: What should I do if I think my property is over-assessed? 
A: First, discuss the assessment with the Township Assessor.  In 

Kane County,  each of the 16 Townships elect their own 
Assessor who develops all iniƟal property valuaƟons at the 
Township level, not the County level. 
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Frequently	Asked	Questions	
 The 16 Township Assessors can be reached at: 

 Aurora (630) 896-7792 www.auroratownshipassessor.com 
 Batavia (630) 879-1323 www.bataviatownship.com 
 Big Rock (630) 556-4340 www.bigrocktownshipassessor.com 
 Blackberry (630) 365-9109 www.blackberrytwp.com 
 Burlington (847) 683-2555 www.burlingtontownship.net 
 Campton (630) 513-5430 www.camptontownship.com 
 Dundee (847) 428-2634 www.dundeetownship.com 
 Elgin (847) 741-5110 www.elgintownship.com 
 Geneva (630) 232-3600 www.genevatownship.com 
 Hampshire (847) 683-4480 www.hampshiretownship.com 
 Kaneville (630) 557-2858 www.kanevilletownship.com 
 Plato (847) 464-4221 www.platotownship.com 
 Rutland (847) 428-5219 www.rutlandtownshipassessor.com 
 St. Charles (630) 584-2040 www.stcharlestownship.org 
 Sugar Grove (630) 466-5255 www.sugargrovetownship.com 
 Virgil (815) 827-3383 www.virgiltownship.net 

 
Q: How is my property’s assessment determined? 
A: For most non-farm property, the Township Assessor 

esƟmates the fair cash value , and then develops an assessed 
value based on 33.33% of that fair cash value of the property 
as of January 1 of the assessment year, based on the three 
prior years of sales.  The Supervisor of Assessments then 
equalizes all assessments to provide for uniform valuaƟons in 
the County.  

 
Q: How are farm assessments determined? 
A: Under the state property tax code, the assessment of 

farmland is based on its agricultural economic value, not its 
fair cash value. In other words, farmland located in the 
Chicago metropolitan area is valued the same way that 
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Frequently	Asked	Questions	
 farmland in rural areas of southern Illinois is valued. Major 

factors in farmland valuaƟon include soil producƟvity, crop 
prices, and farm loan interest rates.  

 
Q: How can I file an assessment complaint with the Board of 

Review? 
A: If you have spoken to your Township Assessor’s office and 

sƟll wish to formally contest your assessment, you can file a 
complaint with the Kane County Board of Review within 30 
days of your township’s assessment noƟce being published in 
your local newspaper (a list of local newspapers is available 
at Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov. 

       There are generally three bases for appealing an assessment: 
 Discrepancy in Physical Data (“The property records show 

I have a 2,400-square-foot house, but my survey shows I 
have only 2,200 square feet.”) 

 ValuaƟon (“The equalized assessed value is greater than 
1/3 of my property’s fair cash value”). 

 Equity (“My equalized assessed value is greater than 
comparable properƟes in my neighborhood.”) 

Please note that the state Property Tax Appeal Board has 
consistently ruled that the amount of taxes paid or 
percentage of change in value from one year to the next is 
not a valid basis for an appeal.  
 

Q: When can I file an assessment complaint with the Board of 
Review? 

A: By state law, assessment complaints for a township may be 
filed up to 30 days aŌer a reassessment noƟce is published in 
a local newspaper.  You can receive an e-mail noƟce of the 
publicaƟon of a township assessment roll by visiƟng 
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Frequently	Asked	Questions	
  

 

Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov, selecƟng the “subscribe” 
link, and entering your e-mail address. 

 
Q: When I get my tax bill, is it too late to file a complaint? 
A: Yes, it is too late unless you have already taken your 

complaint to the Board of Review for that taxable year. 
 
Q: How can I compare the assessed value of my property to the 

assessed values of similar homes in my area? 
A: You have the right to inspect the township assessor’s 

records, which contain assessed values as well as other 
informaƟon.  You may inspect the records for any parcel of 
property, as well as the records for your own property, 
subject to reasonable regulaƟons set forth by local officials. 

 
Q: Will I be no fied if my assessment is going to be increased? 
A: By state law, noƟces of all assessment changes are published 

in a local newspaper.  Also, if the Township Assessor changes 
your assessment, the County Supervisor of Assessments will 
mail you an addiƟonal noƟce via U.S. Mail sent to the same 
address where your tax bill is sent. AddiƟonally, you can 
automaƟcally receive e-mail noƟficaƟon of assessment roll 
publicaƟon by visiƟng the County Assessment Office on the 
web at Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov, selecƟng “subscribe”, 
and entering your e-mail address.  

 
Q: What else can I do to minimize my property tax burden? 
A: Call the County Assessment Office to verify that you are 

receiving the exempƟons for which you qualify.  If you have 
quesƟons about the rate charged by a specific taxing body, 
we suggest that you contact that taxing body.  If you have 
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Frequently	Asked	Questions	
  

 

specific quesƟons about your assessed valuaƟon, please 
contact your township assessor. 

 
Q: How does the Tax Cap law apply to Kane County? 
A: Kane County is under the Property Tax Extension LimitaƟon 

Law which limits the total amount of property tax that can be 
levied by most local governments. Generally, the law limits 
the increase of a local government’s tax levy by 5% or the 
rate of inflaƟon (whichever is less) over the highest levy of 
the prior three years. The tax caps are not applicable to:  
• Increases due to newly constructed property;  
• Bonded indebtedness of a local government;  
 Home Rule communiƟes;  
 Recaptures from adjudicaƟon; and  
 Increases approved by the voters through referenda. 
This law provides that a local government’s levy is developed 
independent of property values, and property taxes can rise 
or fall regardless of what happens to property values.  

 
Q: What will happen if I don’t pay my property taxes? 
A: Your taxes may be sold at the annual tax sale.  If your taxes 

are sold, you will retain the right to redeem your property for 
two and one-half years if it is your principal dwelling.  Other 
property must be redeemed within two years.  To redeem it, 
you will have to pay costs and interest in addiƟon to any tax 
due.  For more informaƟon, contact the County Clerk’s Tax 
RedempƟon Department. 

 
Q: My mortgage company pays my taxes.  Why did I get a bill? 
A: Most mortgage companies pay electronically, and do not 

require a bill.  We suggest that you contact your mortgage 
company to confirm.  A bill is mailed to you for your records.  
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Frequently	Asked	Questions	
Many school districts, park districts, and libraries require you 
to show your tax bill to prove residency. 

 
Q: I didn’t pay my taxes last year.  How can I find out how 

much I owe? 
A: Call the Kane County Clerk and ask for an EsƟmate of 

RedempƟon; have your parcel number ready when you call. 
 
Q: I didn’t live here last year.  Why did I receive a tax bill for 

that year? 
A: The tax remains with the property regardless of ownership.  

To determine your liability for paying the tax, check your 
closing statement to see if the seller gave you credit, or 
contact your aƩorney. 

 
Q: I don’t know my parcel index number (PIN); how can I get it? 
A: Your PIN is on your property tax bill or on your assessment 

noƟce.  You can also get your PIN by contacƟng your 
township assessor, the County Assessment Office, or 
selecƟng Property Search at Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov. 

 
Q: If I pay by mail how can I get a receipt? 
A: AŌer the payment is processed, proof of payment is available 

on the Treasurer’s web site at Treasurer.KaneCountyIL.gov. 
 
Q: Is there a charge for a duplicate copy of my bill? 
A: It can be obtained from the Treasurer’s office for $2.00 or it 

can be printed for free at Treasurer.KaneCountyIL.gov. 
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Frequently	Asked	Questions	
Q.  How do I change the mailing address on my tax bill? 
A.  Each tax bill has a pre-printed form on the back, also the form 

can be downloaded from both the Treasurer’s and Supervisor 
of Assessments’ web site. 

 
Q.  Where can I make my real estate tax payments? 
A.  At numerous banks within Kane County, at the Treasurer’s 

office, by mail, over the internet by e-check (no fee) or credit 
card (fee), and a 24-hour drive up drop box behind Building 
“A” at the Kane County Government Center in Geneva. 

 
 
Q: What if I have further ques ons about property tax in Kane 

County? 
A: For quesƟons about: 

 Property ValuaƟon, contact your Township Assessor; a 
directory is at Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov, or call 
(630) 208-3818 for assistance. 

 ExempƟons or Assessment Complaints, call the Kane 
County Assessment Office at (630) 208-3818 or visit 
Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov. 

 Tax Rates or Tax RedempƟon, call the Kane County Clerk 
at (630) 232-5964 or visit Clerk.KaneCountyIL.gov. 

 Real Estate Tax Bills, call the Kane County Treasurer 
at (630) 232-3565 or visit Treasurer.KaneCountyIL.gov. 

 Other Kane County issues, visit www.CountyofKane.org. 
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Notes	



Who	To	Contact	
Assessed ValuaƟons .............................................. Township Assessor 

Assessment Complaints ............................. County Assessment Office 

Budgets and Levies .................... Local Governments or County Clerk 

Current Tax Bills/CollecƟon ..................................... County Treasurer 

Consumer Price Index ......................... U.S. Bureau of Labor StaƟsƟcs 

Delinquent Taxes and RedempƟons .............................. County Clerk 

EqualizaƟon Factors ................................... County Assessment Office 

ExempƟons ................................................. County Assessment Office 

Forfeitures ................................................................ County Treasurer 

Foreclosures .................................................................. County Sheriff 

Mobile Home RegistraƟon .............................................. County Clerk 

Mobile Home Tax Bills ............................................. County Treasurer 

Property Tax Caps ........................................................... County Clerk 

Property Tax Rates .......................................................... County Clerk 
 

Kane County Assessment Office 
719 Batavia Avenue, Building C 

Geneva, Illinois 60134-3000 
(630) 208-3818 

Kane County Clerk/Tax Extension 
719 Batavia Avenue, Building B 

Geneva, Illinois 60134-3000  
(630) 232-5964 

Kane County Treasurer 
719 Batavia Avenue, Building A 

Geneva, Illinois 60134-3000 
(630) 232-3565 

  
 (Rev. April 2025) 


