A Kane County Taxpayer's Guide to Filing an Assessment Complaint

"On written complaint that any property is overassessed or underassessed, the board [of review] shall review the assessment, and correct it, as appears to be just . . ."

-35 ILCS 200/16-55



Kane County Board of Review 2025 Session



KANE COUNTY BOARD OF REVIEW

719 Batavia Avenue, Building C Geneva, Illinois 60134-3000 (630) 208-3818 https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov

Postmark Dat	eComplaint No
Use Code	Tax Code
Hearing Date	Hearing Time

- 1. The assessment complaint process is governed by the Board of Review's Rules and Procedures, which can be found at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Documents/Rules.pdf. All are advised to review them prior to filing a complaint.
- 2. This form must be filed no more than 30 days from the date of publication required under 35 ILCS 200/12-10.
- 3. All evidence must either accompany this complaint form, or be submitted electronically at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov no more than 14 calendar days after final filing deadline. The Board will not accept additional written documentation after the filing is made except as provided in the Rules and Procedures.
- 4. Publication dates and filing/evidence deadlines are available at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Pages/Deadline.aspx.
- 5. If the complaint has more than one page, do not use staples or other bindings; use paper clips or binder clips instead.
- 6. Corporate taxpayers and owners (including LLCs) must be represented by an attorney licensed to practice law in Illinois.
- 7. Instructions for this form are available at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Pages/Assessment-Complaints.aspx.
- 8. If the taxpayer requires an appearance before the Board but fails to appear, the complaint may be dismissed.
- 9. Questions about this form or the Board's Rules and Procedures may be directed to the Board office at (630) 208-3818.

Costion 1. Droporty Identification (required)

Discuss your property's valuation with your Township Assessor; see

<u>Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov</u>
for Township Assessor contact information.

structions

THE COUNTY

Residential/Farm

Before you begin . . .

KANE COUNTY BOARD OF REVIEW

719 Batavia Avenue, Building C Geneva, Illinois 60134-3000 (630) 208-3818

https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov

Postmark Date _____
Use Code ____
Hearing Date ____

- 1. The assessment complaint process is governed by the Board of Rev https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Documents/Rules.pdf. All
- 2. This form must be filed no more than 30 days from the date of publ
- 3. All evidence must either accompany this complaint form, or be sub https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov no more than 14 calendar cadditional written documentation after the filing is made except as
- 4. Publication dates and filing/evidence deadlines are available at httr
- 5. If the complaint has more than one page, do not use staples or o
- 6. Corporate taxpayers and owners (including LLCs) must be represent
- 7. Instructions for this form are available at https://Assessments.Kane
- 8. If the taxpayer requires an appearance before the Board but fails to
- 9. Questions about this form or the Board's Rules and Procedures ma



Kane County Board of Review

2025

The Kane County Board of Review has adopted these rules and procedures "for the guidance of persons doing business with them and for the orderly dispatch of business" (35 ILCS 200/9-5). Questions may be directed to the Board of Review office at (630) 208-3818.

Rules and Procedures

Significant Changes for 2025 are Highlighted

Timothy J. Sullivan, MAI, SRA, Chairman Constantine "Dino" Konstans, Member Michael E. Madziarek, CIAO, Member Mark D. Armstrong, CIAO-M, Clerk

Castian 1. Dranady Idantification (required)

Review the Board's Rules and Procedures, which are available at

Assessments.KaneCountylL.gov.



KANE COUNTY BOARD OF REVIEW

719 Batavia Avenue, Building C Geneva, Illinois 60134-3000 (630) 208-3818 https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov

Postmark Date	Complaint No	
Use Code	Tax Code	
Hearing Date	Hearing Time	

- 1. The assessment complaint process is governed by the Board of Review's Rules and Procedures, which can be found at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Documents/Rules.pdf. All are advised to review them prior to filing a complaint.
- 2. This form must be filed no more than 30 days from the date of publication required under 35 ILCS 200/12-10.
- 3. All evidence must either accompany this complaint form, or be submitted electronically at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov no more than 14 calendar days after final filing deadline. The Board will not accept additional written documentation after the filing is made except as provided in the Rules and Procedures.
- 4. Publication dates and filing/evidence deadlines are available at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Pages/Deadline.aspx.
- 5. If the complaint has more than one page, do not use staples or other bindings; use paper clips or binder clips instead.
- 6. Corporate taxpayers and owners (including LLCs) must be represented by an attorney licensed to practice law in Illinois.
- 7. Instructions for this form are available at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Pages/Assessment-Complaints.aspx.
- 8. If the taxpayer requires an appearance before the Board but fails to appear, the complaint may be dismissed.
- 9. Questions about this form or the Board's Rules and Procedures may be directed to the Board office at (630) 208-3818.

Costion 1. Droporty Identification (required)

Remember to file your assessment complaint by the deadline for your Township; by state law, the Board of Review cannot accept complaints filed after the deadline. You can find the deadlines at Assessments.KaneCountylL.gov.

ξ

ĺ



KANE COUNTY BOARD OF REVIEW

719 Batavia Avenue, Building C Geneva, Illinois 60134-3000 (630) 208-3818 https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov

Postmark Date	Complaint No
Use Code	Tax Code
Hearing Date	Hearing Time

- 1. The assessment complaint process is governed by the Board of Review's Rules and Procedures, which can be found at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Documents/Rules.pdf. All are advised to review them prior to filing a complaint.
- 2. This form must be filed no more than 30 days from the date of publication required under 35 ILCS 200/12-10.
- 3. All evidence must either accompany this complaint form, or be submitted electronically at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov no more than 14 calendar days after final filing deadline. The Board will not accept additional written documentation after the filing is made except as provided in the Rules and Procedures.
- 4. Publication dates and filing/evidence deadlines are available at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Pages/Deadline.aspx.
- 5. If the complaint has more than one page, do not use staples or other bindings; use paper clips or binder clips instead.
- 6. Corporate taxpayers and owners (including LLCs) must be represented by an attorney licensed to practice law in Illinois.
- 7. Instructions for this form are available at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Pages/Assessment-Complaints.aspx.
- 8. If the taxpayer requires an appearance before the Board but fails to appear, the complaint may be dismissed.
- 9. Questions about this form or the Board's Rules and Procedures may be directed to the Board office at (630) 208-3818.

Costion 1. Droporty Identification (required)

Evidence must be filed either:

- A. With this form; or
- B. Electronically at KaneCountyAssessments.org no later than 14 days after your Township's filing deadline.



Residential/Farm

Before you begin . . .

KANE COUNTY BOARD OF REVIEW

719 Batavia Avenue, Building C Geneva, Illinois 60134-3000 (630) 208-3818 https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov

Postmark Date	Complaint No
Use Code	Tax Code
Hearing Date _	Hearing Time

- 1. The assessment complaint process is governed by the Board of Review's Rules and Procedures, which can be found at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Documents/Rules.pdf. All are advised to review them prior to filing a complaint.
- 2. This form must be filed no more than 30 days from the date of publication required under 35 ILCS 200/12-10.
- 3. All evidence must either accompany this complaint form, or be submitted electronically at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov no more than 14 calendar days after final filing deadline. The Board will not accept additional written documentation after the filing is made except as provided in the Rules and Procedures.
- 4. Publication dates and filing/evidence deadlines are available at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Pages/Deadline.aspx.
- 5. If the complaint has more than one page, do not use staples or other bindings; use paper clips or binder clips instead.
- 6. Corporate taxpayers and owners (including LLCs) must be represented by an attorney licensed to practice law in Illinois.
- 7. Instructions for this form are available at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Pages/Assessment-Complaints.aspx.
- 8. If the taxpayer requires an appearance before the Board but fails to appear, the complaint may be dismissed.
- 9. Questions about this form or the Board's Rules and Procedures may be directed to the Board office at (630) 208-3818.

Do not use staples or other bindings!



KANE COUNTY BOARD OF REVIEW

719 Batavia Avenue, Building C Geneva, Illinois 60134-3000 (630) 208-3818 https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov

Postmark Date	Complaint No	
Use Code	Tax Code	
Hearing Date	Hearing Time	

- 1. The assessment complaint process is governed by the Board of Review's Rules and Procedures, which can be found at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Documents/Rules.pdf. All are advised to review them prior to filing a complaint.
- 2. This form must be filed no more than 30 days from the date of publication required under 35 ILCS 200/12-10.
- 3. All evidence must either accompany this complaint form, or be submitted electronically at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov no more than 14 calendar days after final filing deadline. The Board will not accept additional written documentation after the filing is made except as provided in the Rules and Procedures.
- 4. Publication dates and filing/evidence deadlines are available at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Pages/Deadline.aspx.
- 5. If the complaint has more than one page, do not use staples or other bindings; use paper clips or binder clips instead.
- 6. Corporate taxpayers and owners (including LLCs) must be represented by an attorney licensed to practice law in Illinois.
- 7. Instructions for this form are available at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Pages/Assessment-Complaints.aspx.
- 8. If the taxpayer requires an appearance before the Board but fails to appear, the complaint may be dismissed.
- 9. Questions about this form or the Board's Rules and Procedures may be directed to the Board office at (630) 208-3818.

Costion 1. Droposty Idoptification (required)

By law, corporate taxpayers must be represented by an attorney; all other taxpayers must either act on their own behalf or be represented by an attorney.

ructions



KANE COUNTY BOARD OF REVIEW

719 Batavia Avenue, Building C Geneva, Illinois 60134-3000 (630) 208-3818 https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov

Postmark Date	_Complaint No
Use Code	_Tax Code
Hearing Date	Hearing Time

- 1. The assessment complaint process is governed by the Board of Review's Rules and Procedures, which can be found at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Documents/Rules.pdf. All are advised to review them prior to filing a complaint.
- 2. This form must be filed no more than 30 days from the date of publication required under 35 ILCS 200/12-10.
- 3. All evidence must either accompany this complaint form, or be submitted electronically at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov no more than 14 calendar days after final filing deadline. The Board will not accept additional written documentation after the filing is made except as provided in the Rules and Procedures.
- 4. Publication dates and filing/evidence deadlines are available at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Pages/Deadline.aspx.
- 5. If the complaint has more than one page, do not use staples or other bindings; use paper clips or binder clips instead.
- 6. Corporate taxpayers and owners (including LLCs) must be represented by an attorney licensed to practice law in Illinois.
- 7. Instructions for this form are available at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Pages/Assessment-Complaints.aspx.
- 8. If the taxpayer requires an appearance before the Board but fails to appear, the complaint may be dismissed.
- 9. Questions about this form or the Board's Rules and Procedures may be directed to the Board office at (630) 208-3818.

Costion 1. Droposty Idontification (required)

If you check the box wherein you demand an electronic appearance before the Board, you must be available to participate in the hearing.

ctrinctions



Residential/Farm

Before you begin . . .

KANE COUNTY BOARD OF REVIEW

719 Batavia Avenue, Building C Geneva, Illinois 60134-3000 (630) 208-3818 https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov

Postmark Dat	eComplaint No
Use Code	Tax Code
Hearing Date	Hearing Time

- 1. The assessment complaint process is governed by the Board of Review's Rules and Procedures, which can be found at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Documents/Rules.pdf. All are advised to review them prior to filing a complaint.
- 2. This form must be filed no more than 30 days from the date of publication required under 35 ILCS 200/12-10.
- 3. All evidence must either accompany this complaint form, or be submitted electronically at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov no more than 14 calendar days after final filing deadline. The Board will not accept additional written documentation after the filing is made except as provided in the Rules and Procedures.
- 4. Publication dates and filing/evidence deadlines are available at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Pages/Deadline.aspx.
- 5. If the complaint has more than one page, do not use staples or other bindings; use paper clips or binder clips instead.
- 6. Corporate taxpayers and owners (including LLCs) must be represented by an attorney licensed to practice law in Illinois.
- 7. Instructions for this form are available at https://Assessments.KaneCountyIL.gov/Pages/Assessment-Complaints.aspx.
- 8. If the taxpayer requires an appearance before the Board but fails to appear, the complaint may be dismissed.
- 9. Questions about this form or the Board's Rules and Procedures may be directed to the Board office at (630) 208-3818.

estion 1. Droposty Identification (required)

Questions?
Call the Board of Review office at (630) 208-3818.

chinchione

Questions?



Visit Assessments.KaneCountylL.gov or call (630) 208-3818.