A Kane County Taxpayer’s Guide to
Filing an Assessment Complaint

“On written complaint that any property is
overassessed or underassessed, the board

[of review] shall review the assessment,

and correct it, as appears to be just...”

—35 ILCS 200/16-55

Kane County Board of Review
2023 Session
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Before you begin . . . -

KANE COUNTY BOARD OF REVIEW Postmark Date Complaint No.
719 Batavia Avenue, Building C
Geneva, Illinois 60134-3000 Use Code Tax Code

(630) 208-3818
vww.KaneCountyAssessments.org Hearing Date Hearing Time

1. The assessment complaint process is governed by the Board of Review’s Rules and Procedures, which can be found at
www.KaneCountvAssessments.org/Documents/Rules.pdf. Taxpayers are advised to review them prior to filing a complaint.

2. This form must be filed no more than 30 days from the date of publication required under 35 ILCS 200/12-10.

3. All evidence must either accompany this complaint form, or be submitted electronically at www.KaneCountvAssessments.org
no more than 14 calendar days after final filing deadline. The Board will not accept additional written documentation after the
filing 1s made except as provided in the Rules and Procedures.

4. Publication dates and filing/evidence deadlines are available at www.KaneCountyAssessments.org/Pages/Deadline.aspx.

5. If the complaint has more than one page, do not use staples or other bindings; use paper clips or binder clips instead.

6. Corporate taxpayers and owners (including LLCs) must be represented by an attorney licensed to practice law in Illinois.

7. Instructions for filling out this form are available at www.KaneCountyAssessments.org/Pages/Assessment-Complaints.aspx.

8. If the taxpayer requires an appearance before the Board but fails to appear, the complaint may be dismissed.

9. Questions about this form or the Board’s Rules and Procedures may be directed to the Board office at (630) 208-3818.
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Discuss your property’s valuation
with your Township Assessor; see
www.KaneCountyAssessments.org
for Township Assessor contact information.
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Review the Board’s Rules and Procedures,
which are available at
www.KaneCountyAssessments.org.
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www.KaneCountvAssessments.org/Documents/Rules.pdf. Taxpayers are advised to review them prior to filing a complaint.
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no more than 14 calendar days after final filing deadline. The Board will not accept additional written documentation after the
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5. If the complaint has more than one page, do not use staples or other bindings; use paper clips or binder clips instead.

6. Corporate taxpavers and owners (including LLCs) must be represented by an attorney licensed to practice law in Illinois.
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/‘ Remember to file your assessment complaint by the
deadline for your Township; by state law, the
Board of Review cannot accept complaints
filed after the deadline. You can find the deadlines

\_ at www.KaneCountyAssessments.orq.
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Evidence must be filed either:
A. With this form; or
B. Electronically at KaneCountyAssessments.org

no later than 14 days after your Township’s filing
\ deadline.
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Do not use staples or other bindings!




Residential/Farm

Before you begin . . . :

KANE COUNTY BOARD OF REVIEW Postmark Date Complaint No.
719 Batavia Avenue, Building C
Geneva, Illinois 60134-3000 Use Code Tax Code

(630) 208-3818

Hearing Date Hearing Time

1. The assessment complaint process is governed by the Board of Review’s Rules and Procedures, which can be found at
www.KaneCountvAssessments.org/Documents/Rules.pdf. Taxpayers are advised to review them prior to filing a complaint.
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By law, corporate taxpayers must be represented

own behalf or be represented by an attorney.

-

by an attorney; all other taxpayers must either act on their
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If you check the box wherein you demand an electronic
appearance before the Board, you must be available to
participate in the hearing.
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Call the Board of Review office at (630) 208-3818.

Questions?




Questions?

Visit
www.KaneCountyAssessments.org
or call (630) 208-3818.



